top of page

POUR YOUR GLASS OF PROBLEM TO MAKE YOUR BURDEN LIGHT


When I am requested to hold a glass of water during one of the symposiums I have attended I instantly succumbed myself to the task because it’s not that hard to do. Perhaps the speaker just wanted to demonstrate something. But when I inquired him how long will I hold the glass of water, he responded as long as I can. A glass of water is so light. Soon I realized that as time passes, the glass gradually becoming heavier and becomes tougher to grip, until I told the speaker that I wanted to stop, and then he told me to place the glass on the table while asking what I learned out from it. I simply told him that it gets heavier the longer it takes.

In our life, we can encounter challenges and problems that may change the way we see things, makes us weak, makes us lonely, makes us angry, makes us frustrated and makes us feel useless. All of these are just tiny part of our whole existence, these are just dots. The longer we hold on to the something that is unpleasant to us, the more painful it gets through us. Imagine the game tug-of-war, the more you hold on the rope to pull it, the more it hurts your hands but when you release it turns out to be easier. When we stop holding on just like what I did to the glass of water, our life will become lighter. Our problems and our mistakes, just like the glass, are just so small that it can’t define ultimately who we really are. We just have to learn to let it go.

Letting it go does not necessarily mean escaping from it, it simply means resting from it. To rest is not giving up. Facing our problems after resting is finding the best way to solve it. Take note that during hard times we are overtaken by our emotions and it is not good for decision making and the more that we can’t resolve it.

If you feel that you are losing, move a step backward and look at things from a larger perspective, then we realize that there are more reasons to be happy and go on with life. After all, in the future once we solved it; it forms part of our happy memory.

And most importantly, pray. Prayer has become a powerful weapon to lighten your load; aside from releasing your emotional stress, you were able to ask God the strength to go on with life. He will make your burden light and make your heart at ease. Always remember that He will not give you problem that you can’t solve. In everything that you have do not forget to thank Him for it, even your problems, because without that you will not learn how to stand on your own, you will not learn how to fly and you will not learn how to be better. Just pray that you will be strong and you will. To change the way you see things might be difficult but it’s not impossible to do.

bottom of page